I’m 22 and still call them Mummy and Daddy – I probably always will.

mum&dad.jpg

I woke up today with an excited little knot in my tummy, and an excited little poodle cuddled up by my side. We’ve been waiting for this morning all week!

I’ve been taking care of Islay, my Mum’s dog, while they jetted off on a spontaneous trip to Fuerteventura for a week. I know, it’s alright for some, right!? My Dad works month on, month off in a job that enables them to take two holidays per year. So, their new habit is bursting into a poor, unsuspecting travel agent’s office at the very last minute and shouting “SEND US SOMEWHERE!!!” (Maybe not quite as dramatically as the image I’ve just portrayed, but you get the point). Last time it was Samos, and the time before that it was Lanzarote.

ANYWAY! – The poodle and I are very excited to see them. I’ve had my up’s and down’s with both of my parents, mostly during the years I was aged 14-18, but isn’t every teenager a little shit who’s much too edgy and cool for their parents? It was a learning curve for all of us, but once I pulled through and came out the other side of my ‘Teen Angst’ phase, we were best of friends again, and have been ever since.

I honestly don’t know where I would be without my Mum and Dad. We haven’t always had a lifestyle with luxuries like buggering off on holiday at the drop of a hat. When I was little, times could be hard. But not once did that stop them from draining themselves completely to make sure we had what we needed. Whether that be a new pair of shoes for school, another jumper from the best charity shop in town, or the last bite of their dinner. They have done everything in their earthly power to ensure that my brother, sister and I had the best upbringing that we possibly could. I’m incredibly blessed to be a part of a tremendously strong family unit, each of whom would lay down their life without hesitation for any of the others. While no family is bulletproof, my parents have taught us that family is everything, and that no matter what obstacles we face in life, or how much damage we take, we can get through anything together and heal together with love. They’ve worked bloody hard for everything they have now, and they only made it because they did everything together as a strong unit, despite the rocky patches they’ve faced over the years. And you know what? I’ve never seen two people more in love than they are today. My parents have set a wonderful example for how I’m going to strive to raise my own family. They have set the bar high, they’re my biggest role models in life.

So while although I’m a grown ass woman with a life of her own, I will ALWAYS need my Mummy and Daddy, and love them unconditionally.

Leave a Reply

